Bookworm Express: What Eye See – Matt A Byron

What happens when someone dies? They go to heaven, right? However, in between heaven and the land of the living, there’s another world—the spirit world. What if someone living was aware of the spirit world and vice versa? Should they be afraid?

Today’s Bookworm Express features a unique story about the darkness that lingers between the living world and that of the spirits.

This week, Scribbler Alliance brings you Matt A Byron’s story What Eye See.

What Eye See

It is the story of one Emery Hallindale. For her, seeing the non-living isn’t new. She’s been able to see them for as long as she can remember. They’ve always just been there, never bothering her or sensing her; just like gray shadows. Until one day, a brush with death seems to fine-tune her sense of the dead. Suddenly the dead are not so gray anymore; no, they’re solid and colorful, and are very aware of Emery.

With the change in her perspective comes a darkness that threatens to consume her. Question is—will she be able to fight for her life before the darkness engulfs her?

Here’s a little excerpt from the story to give you a hint of what’s to come:

 

As they walked, Emery saw a woman standing by a tree. The woman’s skin was gray, the clothes seemed tattered, and her eyes were empty. She wasn’t looking for anything in particular, and people walking past her were oblivious to her presence because she was dead.

A spirit left behind perhaps mulling about as if she were part of the living world. The spirit seemed oblivious of her or anyone else for that matter, and she just stood there looking around with no particular point of interest in mind.

Melissa noticed Emery was focused on something as they both stopped. She didn’t see what her sister saw.

“I wonder why you see them, and I don’t. And what’s the point if you can’t communicate with them or help them. It seems creepy.”

Emery looked away from the lost spirit and turned to her sister.

“I don’t know. I have had this for as long as I can remember. Why do I see certain spirits and not others? I never saw mom or dad. I don’t get what this is.”

“Maybe it’s like a radio to where you need to angle the antenna a certain way to get better reception.”

They laughed.

“Like I only see part of it, and the audio is not in tune. I don’t know. There definitely seems like there should be more to it.”

 

Now it’s time for my review. First off the positives: albeit it’s a short story, it manages to get the message the author is trying to get through to you. So it’s very well-written. Another one is that I don’t usually go for horror stories or movies for that matter. Why? Because I always feel like it’s make-believe. But with this book, I am pleased to report that I had my fair share of hair-raising goosebumps-on-skin moments. So thank you, Mr. Byron, for a story so good. Another thing I’d like to point out is the storyline. It’s different than many books I’ve read and unique in ways that makes it hard for you to put it down and sleep. I might have stayed up all night to finish the book in one go. And I have no regrets.

The only negative I will count against it is the length of the story. It left me wanting more for Emery’s future. But I guess that’s what happens when you read a great story … it leaves you yearning for more. Am I right? All in all, in Anne’s scale this book gets 4.5 stars out of 5. I thoroughly recommend you read this book, bookworms, because this is definitely worth the read.

Thank you for visiting. If there’s any book you’d like us to review, let us know in your comments.

Love,

A

 

Post Image Source: Amazon

Bookworm Express Banner: Yours truly

Leave a Reply

