Anne Express: Flash Fiction#4

Hi, guys! Welcome back to Anne Express on Scribbler Alliance! This week I have a new flash fic for you based on a prompt at a flash fiction challenge. Also, this flash fic is rated T for suggestive themes. So if you’re of underage or are offended by such themes, I suggest you skip this. To the others, enjoy!

 

Prompt: “I sleep much better this way”

 4

Scaredy Cat

 

A knock on my door followed by the creaking noise of the door opening makes me raise my head from the overly-soft pillow.

“Love?” He calls a little uncertainly from the doorway.

I sniffle and ask, “What do you want?”

His head peeks inside, and he looks at me. “Can I come back to bed? Please?”

I give him a stern look and ask, “You promise not to do that again?”

“Yes.” He nods emphatically. “I was a jerk. I’m sorry. I should’ve never tried to scare you.”

“And?”

He looks sheepishly at me. “And it’s perfectly natural to feel edgy after watching a horror movie. I shouldn’t have made fun of you.”

His sincere tone along with the earnest look in his eyes makes me finally hold out a hand. “Come here. This bed feels too big when I’m sleeping alone.”

He quickly comes to me and then slips under the covers, bringing me to his chest.

I lift my face to his for a kiss, and he obliges willingly.

He kisses me softly and sweetly before placing a tender kiss on my forehead. “Sleep, love. We’ll have tomorrow.”

I shake my head. “No, we’ll have much longer than just tomorrow, baby. We have our whole lives together before us.”

He looks at me, mischief evident in his eyes. “Are you sure you want me around for that long?”

I nod, resting my head on his chest. “Uh-huh. I sleep much better this way.”

“I do too,” he responds.

 

Thank you for visiting. Please let me know your thoughts in the comments. If there’s a prompt you want me to weave into a flash fic, you are welcome to let me know in the comments. Hope you have a rocking week ahead! 🙂

Love,

A

 

Image source: Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Anne Express: Flash Fiction#4

Leave a Reply

